Jesus “began to teach them: ‘How blest…’ ” —Matthew 5:2-3

The eight Beatitudes go together. For example, we will never be poor in spirit, that is, voluntarily live below our means, unless we have mourned for our sins, have the strength of meekness, and are seeking first God’s kingdom and righteousness (see Mt 6:33). Yet if we hunger and thirst for righteousness, we will certainly be persecuted (see 2 Tm 3:12). However, only those committed to the Lord and repentant of sin, that is, those who are clean of heart, will accept the privilege of being persecuted. The clean of heart mourn for their sins and hunger and thirst for righteousness. The eight Beatitudes are eight ways of looking at one thing.
The basic Beatitude is: “Blessed are the disciples of Jesus, who live to imitate Him.” Blessedness is found by living in and for Jesus. The main thing about the Beatitudes is that they are revealed to us by Jesus and are revelations of Jesus’ character. Jesus is the only name by which we can be saved and ultimately blessed (see Acts 4:12). Jesus is our only Way, Truth, and Life (Jn 14:6). God has made Jesus “our Wisdom and also our Justice, our Sanctification, and our Redemption” (1 Cor 1:30). Jesus is our Love, Hope, Joy, Lord, Savior, and God. Blessed are those living in Jesus.

Prayer: Father, send the Holy Spirit so that I will love Jesus much more deeply.
Promise: “Seek the Lord, all you humble of the earth, who have observed His law; seek justice, seek humility.” —Zep 2:3
Praise: All praise to You, Jesus, our Savior, risen Lamb of God. You are the King of kings and Lord of lords. Alleluia!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s